The Shower

man-showerWhen I stepped into the shower earlier this evening, it sure felt good. You know how sometimes that water just brings a spontaneous sigh of relief? Physically I’ve been battling an upper respiratory infection. Emotionally I’ve been carrying some pretty heavy burdens. Spiritually I’ve been wandering about in a self-created arid place. That is no doubt what made me utter, “Wash it all away, Lord.”

Of course, the water from our well is in no way able to “wash it all away.” Yeah it eased some of the physical discomforts, and that gave a small boost to the emotions, but my actual need is common to all. We need to “draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water.” (Heb 10:22)

We must come to Jesus to be healed or receive the grace to endure. We must come to Jesus to be relieved of our burdens or receive the help to carry them. We must come to Jesus to be washed and renewed by the Holy Spirit. For He invites us to “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly of heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.” (Matt 11:28-30)

The next time you step into the shower and the hot water begins its cleansing work, think of the ultimate washing done on your behalf. Consider “Him who loved us and washed us from our sins in His own blood, and has made us kings and priests to His God and Father, to Him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” (Rev 1:5b)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

