Wait on the Lord

wait-here-signThe view from my front window has not changed much over the years. Several years ago a power line was cut up over the wooded hill. Not too long ago the government planned to develop a magnetic train line that would have traversed my line of sight. However, that never came to fruition. I’m glad it didn’t. The view remains mostly wooded, and wildlife sightings are frequent from that window.

One sighting I often see is red tail hawks. They are a relatively large bird with a reddish tail. Often they perch on top of the towers of the power line surveying the valley below. They launch into the air and sail smoothly in the thermal updrafts without beating a wing. They seem effortless as they cruise around the sky. It reminds of the verse in Isaiah, “But for those who wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not be faint.” (40:31)

The life of faith like that hawk sailing should be effortless …if we wait upon the Lord! That’s the problem – waiting! I never liked to wait. In fact, I trained myself not to like to wait. But in the Christian life, it is a necessity to wait – to wait on the Lord. Waiting on Him means that He is in control. Not waiting on Him means that I’m in control, and that is the heart of the issue.

King David was a man after God’s own heart. His life was constantly challenged with difficulties and problems. But he had developed through these tribulations a strong faith in the Lord. His life experiences taught him that waiting on the Lord was much better than acting according to his own will. In Psalm 25 he wrote, “Show me Your ways, O Lord; Teach me Your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me, For You are the God of my salvation; On You I wait all the day.” (Ps 25: 4, 5)

It’s absurd to think that we will never have to wait. Waiting is a fact of life. Waiting on the Lord is an act of faith. What is currently on your heart that you are waiting for? Let us not be like the Israelites in the wilderness who forgot His works and did not wait for His counsel.” (Ps 106:13)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

