Fulfill All

alive1“Therefore we also pray always for you that our God would count you worthy of this calling, and fulfill all the good pleasure of His goodness and the work of faith with power, that the name of our Lord Jesus Christ may be glorified in you, and you in Him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.” (Thessalonians 1:11-12)

“Awww, you poor little thing,” I said after rounding the corner in the Auxiliary Building at work. I knelt down, “I’m sorry, little bird.” A baby bird had fallen from a nest high up in the rafters. It labored with the last breaths of such a brief life. I thought of the stark reality of Romans, chapter 8, verses 18 through 25, and the words, “For we know that the whole creation groans and labors” awaiting deliverance from the corruption and curse of this world.

Though sad, I drew some comfort knowing that even a bird does not “fall to the ground apart from the Father’s will.” (Matthew 10:29) Still, I could not help but think of what never came to be in the life of that bird. It would never launch anxiously from the nest in its initial attempt to fly nor realize the thrill when successful. There would be no soaring in the blue sky beneath a golden sun. No comfort of a full belly. No refreshing splash in a birdbath. It would know nothing of resting in a tree filled with green leaves while cool gentle breezes swayed it to and fro. It would never sing a happy tune; there would be no lovely songs to brighten the day of passersby.

Sadder still? – What about all those people who have lived, who do live, yet never fulfill the destiny and expectancy God had/has for them! They live in ignorance, or worse, rebellion against His true calling on their lives. They suppress the truth, while denying His creation, presence and power. They turn from His goodness and place their faith in anything or anyone but Him. They refuse to glorify God nor thank Him for His abundant provision, protection, excellence, and majesty. They reject His love. (See Romans 1)

The fact is that innocent little bird that tumbled into the Father’s hands lived above and beyond even people who live contrary to His will and His way. They have the opportunity that baby bird did not receive but do nothing with it. They never launch out and learn the flight of faith. They never bask in the beauty of His creation. They have no comfort of full abundance, always seeking, scratching for more. They never splash in the Living Water and come forth actually clean. Rest and cool breezes are forever just out of their reach. Their songs are dirges; their shadows cast long and darken the path of those who pass by.

Hey, I spent some time there, I was like that, but praise God, He bought me, and He sought me, and by His grace, I was found. Now, I want to be worthy of His calling. I want to fulfill all that He has for me to be and to do. And I want to glorify Him all the rest of the days of my life.

I guess you could say a little birdie told me that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

