“Just Jesus”

8866c7ec148d36c681c3ff47a4bee1ab“Beloved, now we are children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know that when He is revealed, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is.” 1 John 3:2

My little grandson (5 years old) and I were on our way home from a visit to Fort Ligonier. He was decked out in a colonial hat in addition to holding a Kentucky Long Rifle, powder horn, and Indian pouch. I had a couple of books on the French & Indian War in the back seat as well. I’m a history buff, and my young companion has adopted my interest.

A farm off the right side of the highway caught my attention. That is another interest of mine and oddly enough of my grandson also. It is no longer an active farm, but it’s a beauty. There is an enormous white barn trimmed in green with cupolas and white-painted wood fence around the pastures.

“Wow! Do you know what I would like when I get to heaven?” I asked my lil protege. We talk a lot about Jesus and the Gospel and heaven.

“What Pappy?” he wanted to know.

“I would like to have a farm same as that one with everything painted white and lots of green grass and some beautiful Golden Guernsey cows grazing in the fields! That would be so awesome!”

“I don’t know if you’ll get that, Pappy!”

“Okay,” I said, “What would you like to have when you get to heaven?”

Without hesitation, he very matter-of-factly answered, “Just Jesus.”

“Great answer!” I happily announced.

Huh, well how about that? One of us has our priorities right.

Just Jesus now, just Jesus forever.

For we know these things: “Therefore if you have been raised up with Christ, keep seeking the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your mind on the things above, not on the things that are on earth. For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is our life, is revealed, then you also will be revealed with Him in glory.” (Col 3:1-4)

Christ is indeed our life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

