How Long?

monkimage“How long, O Lord? Will You forget me forever? How long will You hide Your face from me? How long shall I take counsel in my soul, having sorrow in my heart daily? How long will my enemy be exalted over me?” (Psalm 13:1, 2)

I prayed. I prayed every day. I prayed every day for three years. I prayed every day my enemy would not return to trouble me. He came back. He came back with all power over me. He delighted in harassing me and exalting over me. I had sorrow in my heart daily. I exclaimed many times, “Lord, did I not pray? Not only have my prayers gone unanswered, but the enemy has abounded unabated, far beyond even my worst fears! What are You doing to me? How long must I endure this?”…

An American officer fighting in the Middle East had his orders. He gathered his troops and started to move forward to accomplish their objective. A sand storm began and halted the advance. The officer, being a Christian, prayed for the storm to cease. It did not. He prayed and prayed. The storm not only remained it grew far worse. His frustration grew as well. “Lord, this is a vital mission. What are You doing to me? How long must we wait?”…

…Under the heavy hand of my oppressor, the Lord revealed much to me about me. In the squeezing vice, anger and bitterness and selfishness and insecurity poured out from my soul. The Lord used the situation to lay bare many things in my life. I needed to learn what had to be dealt with before I could move forward. He permitted the enemy a season to show me and grow me, to develop a deeper trust in His mercy and grace and share a testimony “I will sing to the Lord, because He has dealt bountifully with me.” (v. 6)

…The sandstorm moved an enormous amount of sand before coming to an end. As the officer and his men finally formed up to advance, they stopped in their tracks staring ahead. Laid bare by the great storm was a mine field.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

