Covered

what-are-strange-forms-of-alternative-energy-644911414-nov-16-2012-1-600x400“Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered. Blessed is the man to whom the Lord does not impute iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no deceit.” (Psalm 32:1-2)

Years ago in my workplace, I would often be assigned to accompany our truck driver and deliver a load of plant trash to the local dump. While it had perks such as a road trip away from the plant, the actual job left much to be desired. Have you ever spent an hour or two in a dump? The smell invades your nostrils and remains much longer than one can imagine. Even as we tossed our refuse onto the huge mounds, the dozers ground around covering the waste with earth. All day they crawled, covering that day’s rot before the sun went down.

You know – the Enemy of our souls, the deceptive world system, and our narcissistic flesh – produce a steady flow of rubbish in us. And how often we try to play dump and dozer in our lives: the stench, the waste, the rot of sin – covered, day by day. The result? – “When I kept silent, my bones grew old through my groaning all the day long. For day and night, Your hand was heavy upon me; my vitality was turned into a drought of summer.” (vs.3, 4)

Many people live such a life today and just keep the dozers rolling, covering and covering. But this should not be, for there is a way out of this buried alive existence. The way? – “I acknowledged my sin to You, and my iniquity I have not hidden. I said, ‘I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,’ and You forgave the iniquity of my sin.” (v.5; see also 1 John 1:5-10)

There is only one way we can cover our sin – by bringing our transgressions continually before the Lord with a contrite spirit and give them over to Him. He has covered them with His blood shed upon the Cross for us. And we in turn – can leave the dozers parked.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

