Gone

foundation-old“As for man, his days are like grass; as a flower of the field, so he flourishes. For the wind passes over it, and it is gone, and its place remembers it no more.” (Psalm 103:15-16)

A thunderstorm passed earlier this evening, and it is gone. The humidity is gone, the clouds, the day. I am standing by the old foundations on the back side of my neighbor’s farm. Remnants of a stone wall, a few slabs of rock, are gone from sight in briars and wild raspberry bushes. A century back, a family and a farm existed here. They are long gone. The present farm and the one I spent countless days on is further east of this old place. The farmer is gone. He passed a few years back. Our visits are gone. The dairy cows, the horses, the pigs, the rabbits, the goats, the mules, the beef cows, the chickens are all gone. The fences are gone. That time is gone. The last generation lives there now, and then…

A good breeze is moving the tall grass around me in shimmering waves, like a grassy ocean. The unseen wind has its effect and then it is gone as it travels southeast to be followed by more wind. The sun will soon be gone behind the western horizon. I stand here and remember so many things that took place on this land. The most important to me happened over there on that hill, that one right there – I made “The Decision” this life is all about – I chose to follow Jesus Christ. That euphoric moment is gone and now is the time of “working out (my) salvation…for it is God who works in (me) both to will and to do for His good pleasure.” (Phil 2:12- 13)

I got to thinking as I took a final look around before heading home. We have such a brief time to glorify God with our lives and make a difference in this world for Him and others – before we are gone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

