Upstairs, Downstairs

KB_Basement_SE-Corner-BEFORE“This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate in it day and night, that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.” Joshua 1:8

It happened last Friday. After weeks or was it months of procrastination, I descended into the dungeon of all dungeons. With the dread of a thousand men accompanying their wife on a shopping trip, I went forth. Or make that down. I went down to my basement with the vacuum cleaner. Then I stood there like always and whimpered, “Where do I even start?” Perhaps it would be prudent to move this clutter over there and move that clutter over here next to this clutter. Hmm…what to do, what to do?

We have a long-haired white cat that spends most of his time in the basement. His fur mimics clingy cotton. The whole area is a big cotton ball. Even a casual stroll through his domain makes a person resemble a small Yeti upon exit. Then there are the spider webs and cobwebs and yikes, “what is that???” I turned the sweeper tool thingy loose until it plugged up, emptied it and repeat, repeat, repeat. I finished Saturday vowing for the umpteenth time not to let my “man cave” minus the man part get so out-of-hand filthy.

The upstairs of our house is a little different story. I am not a “scrub it with a toothbrush” kind of guy and my well-known motto of “What’s under the fridge stays under the fridge” works fine for me. However, the upstairs is cleaned weekly and kept neat and orderly on a daily basis. That is, except when our grandson is present and does his cyclone imitation. Nevertheless, very soon after his departure the tidy is quickly regained.

There is quite a difference between our upstairs and downstairs.

You know, when we treat the word of God like I treat the basement of my house the results will be similar. It takes but a slight amount of time absent from God’s word to create the cluttery, creepy, crawly, cottony, collection of yikes, “what is that’s???” in our life. Apart from His Word our fallen nature just naturally degenerates into the condition of my basement. Trust me, I do not want that, and you do not want that!

We can, and we should choose my upstairs practice. Daily attention and attendance in His Book will allow us to prosper and succeed in this one life we are called to live by faith. Let us spend a daily quiet time with our lap filled with an open Bible and our minds and hearts filled with the Holy Spirit. We are to meditate, observe and then do in accordance to what He has written. And that will make for a clean house upstairs and downstairs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

