Can Do

Daily-to-do-list-1“I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, bears much fruit; for without Me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5)

I am a “to do” person. I make “to do” lists on a daily basis. It helps me stay organized and focused on the tasks at hand. The grass needs to be mowed – done; take out the garbage – done; go to the bank – done; water the flowers – done. There is nothing wrong with such lists provided they do not place us in a tunnel vision mode where we can’t see our way out. Life does have a way of disrupting any plans we may have, and, therefore, requires mobility, adjustments, and proper priorities. The grass will not get mowed as scheduled because someone needs help. That letter will not get written today due to sickness, and so on. But, I have to admit, I am a pretty good “can do” guy when following my “to do” lists.

What about following the Lord? How well do I abide in Him? Am I a real “can do” fruit-bearing guy or a withered branch? I don’t know about you, but pondering the answers to those questions makes me squirm. The fact is when we do not abide in the Lord (wrapped up in Him), we can do nothing!

That is a far cry from my “to do” successes. Jesus promises us, “If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you.” (v.7) He tells us we will bear much fruit, be loved fully in Him, and have a life filled with joy. (Vs.8-11)

Are we “can do” or “can do nothing” people? It all depends on where we abide.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

