Photo Shopped

add-effects-to-scenery“Beware lest anyone cheat you through philosophy and empty deceit, according to the tradition of men, according to the basic principles of the world, and not according to Christ.” Colossians 2:8

I’m a retired guy. I’m a night owl. I have a Facebook account. No good can come of that. Nonetheless, I try to make good come of it. I want to share my faith in Christ whenever, however. My being a bit light in the gifts and talents department means I have to be creative. One idea I came up with was while my Facebook friends were sleeping I’d post pictures that glorified God in some way. Or write something that might be an encouragement to them when they got up in the morning. I’d include humorous posts as well to bless them with a smile or chuckle. And, of course, post a lot of pictures and videos of cats. Let’s face it, there wouldn’t even be an internet without cats.

I am fortunate to have more than a few FB friends who are excellent photographers. I get to enjoy their talent and artistry with a camera. One is not a professional shutterbug, but he certainly could be. He lets me know if there has been photo-shopping in any of the pictures I post. Photo-shopping can be an art form all its own, but when giving God the glory for His beautiful creation, I want the real thing, not Memorex. My friend knows the real thing when it comes to photography. He also knows what is not real. I do not. I can be cheated. I can be deceived.

The Apostle Paul warns us in the Scripture above that the same thing can happen concerning the word of God and the things of His Christ. If we do not know the real thing, we can be easily photo-shopped. We don’t want to be photo-shopped! Paul says, “Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” (2 Tim 2:15)

Do we know the real thing when it comes to God’s Word and the Word made Flesh? Do we know what is not real?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

