One Day at a Time

one_day_at_a_time_store“…do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” (Matthew 6:34)

In the Sermon on the Mount, Jesus taught the people about tomorrow. He told them do not live tomorrow today. Whether we borrow trouble from our past or the future, the resultant burden can weigh today down beyond our measure. Instead, we need to lay the past down at His feet and leave it there. We need to lift the future up to Him as an offering and leave it there. Live in the present. Live one day at a time. That last sentence has six easy little words – easily written – but so hard to live by. We might spend a Sunday looking ahead to the work week to come with sheer dread. Sunday then gets buried and is gone. We may borrow an upcoming medical procedure from a tomorrow or some hard task ahead and prematurely incapacitate ourselves for several of our day’s.

Years ago, Marijohn Wilkins and Kris Kristofferson wrote a tune entitled, “ONE DAY AT A TIME, SWEET JESUS” which speaks to this very well:

I’m only human, I’m just a man/woman
Help me believe in what I could be
And all that I am
Show me the stairway I have to climb
Lord for my sake, help me to take
One day at a time

One day at a time sweet Jesus
That’s all I’m askin’ of you
Just give me the strength
To do every day what I have to do
Yesterday’s gone sweet Jesus
And tomorrow may never be mine
Lord, help me today, show me the way
One day at a time

Do you remember when you walked among men
Well Jesus you know
If you’re lookin’ below, it’s worse now than then
Pushin’ and shovin’ and crowdin’ my mind
So for my sake, teach me to take
One day at a time

One day at a time sweet Jesus
That’s all I’m askin’ of you
Just give me the strength
To do every day what I have to do
Yesterday’s gone sweet Jesus
And tomorrow may never be mine
Lord, help me today, show me the way
One day at a time.

“One day at a time sweet Jesus.” Now there is a great New Year’s resolution: Live one day at a time. That is all God is asking of us. Live today. Live today abundantly. Live today fully. Live today – one day at a time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

