We Win!

0fb7dd36e9a7a0211d451683a176e8f3I have been a fan of the Pittsburgh Penguins for several years. My wife on the other hand had no interest in pucks and goalies and Crosbys. That is until I dragged her to a game. Instant fan! Rabid fan! We’ve been to a few more games, and every game on television is a must watch. She tapes the games we will miss to watch later. The challenge there is to avoid the final score before the taped game is viewed. My wife can usually do this, but more times than not I end up knowing the outcome before we take our positions on the couch.

I must say, already knowing the final result, especially a good result, does change my demeanor during the game. A penalty taken, a soft goal allowed or missing a wide open net by the Pens gets a grunt and sigh from me. Meanwhile the wife is freaking out and yelling at the girls for messing up. She has no peace until the game ends and the Pens win. I’m no different watching a live contest. The ups and downs, ebbs and flows have my emotions roller-coasting right there in the living room. Not knowing what the final score will be sure makes life tough for us Pens-followers.

What about Christ-followers? Don’t we way too often act like my wife and I punching sofa pillows and anguishing when it appears we’re losing the game? Life is just full of ups and downs and ebbs and flows and we’re winning and then the enemy’s winning and our faith falters and our peace steals away and we despair unto uselessness and…“ohhh, woe is we!”

What if we already knew how things turn out in the end and – we win? Is that not the assured state of the Christian? Jesus told His disciples and us – “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

We are over-comers in Christ Jesus and can stand steadfast on God‘s word: “Write, for these words are true and faithful.” And He said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and Omega, the Beginning and the End. I will give of the fountain of the water of life freely to him who thirsts. He who overcomes shall inherit all things, and I will be his God and he shall be My son.” (Revelation 21:5c-7)

Christians can walk by faith, live in peace, be useful to God and man and be of good cheer. Read the end of the book – We Win!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

