Open His Eyes

Open-My-Eyes-2-See“And when the servant of the man of God arose early and went out, there was an army, surrounding the city with horses and chariots. And his servant said to him, ‘Alas, my master! What shall we do?’ So he answered, ‘Do not fear, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them.’ And Elisha prayed, and said, ‘Lord, I pray, open his eyes that he may see.’ Then the Lord opened the eyes of the young man, and he saw. And behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.” (II Kings 6:15-17)

When my son was a youngster he had a problem common for many kids – a bully – the neighborhood bully. It seems there is a bully on every block of the world. My boy managed to avoid this one or at least had other people around for the most part. The danger came when the bully would get him alone. One day I was working in the garage when I happened to step out and glance around the corner. Good timing – my son was in flight up our hill with the bully on his tail. The first boy had real anguish on his face, the second boy an arrogant, “You are mine now!” I waited until my son got near and then I appeared seemingly out of nowhere. That first boy’s face immediately exchanged its anguished expression for one of relief and confidence. The second boy, his expression changed too, or at least what little I saw of his face before he took flight back down the hill. It turned out there was more of us than there was of him.

The king of Syria was the bully on the block. Elisha, the prophet of God, was his intended target. All around the city of Dothan, where Elisha was staying, the bully huffed and puffed. His great power was evident. He had an arrogant “You are mine now!” look on his face. Elisha could have, and perhaps should have, been in anguish, as was his faithful servant. Yet his eyes were open to the spiritual realities around him. Elisha lived in the will of God. He knew his times were in the guiding hands of YAHWEH. Whether the bully would have his way or would be sent a-running, God was there. Elisha’s servant needed to know this. God opened his eyes. The Syrians ended up blind and in Israel’s custody. When we live in the will of our God there is always more of us than there are of them.

This event, at least to me, begs the questions – do I have open eyes to the spiritual realities around me as did Elisha? Or am I, as was his servant, not seeing such realities? And, am I smack dab in the middle of God’s will, where nothing can harm me, even unto death? Or am I outside of His will where all is harm? Do I have open eyes? Do you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

