Looking Unto Jesus

look to jesus“…let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” (Hebrews 12:1, 2)

When our grandson was a little baby there were two ways to get him to calm down in his – “I’m hungry, I’m gassy, I’m in need of a diaper change, I’m hot, I’m cold, I’m sleepy” – world. The first was his mother. No matter the disturbance in his life, when placed in his mommy’s arms he would immediately quiet and just look and look at her. The second way was rather odd and rather hilarious. My son and daughter-in-law have one of those abstract painting in their living room. It isn’t my cup of tea, but the colors do go quite well with their decor. And the odd looking picture was just fascinating to the baby.

“Whahhh, whahhh, whahhh!”

“Look at the picture. Look at the picture.”

“Whahhh, whah……..”

Quiet. Staring. Quiet.

It reminds me of the Scripture above, one of my favorites. How often I neglect to look unto Jesus when the world is all gas bubbles and dirty diapers. When I’m so weighed down with heavy burdens. When my sins catch hold and I will not let them let go. When the finish line is way out there, far past my endurance. When I’m at the point of “Whahhh, whahhh, whahhh!” – “Look unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith! Look unto Jesus, who endured the cross! Look unto Jesus, who despised the shame in light of the joy to come! Look unto Jesus, who sits at the right hand of the throne of God!”

Is that where you are today? Weighed down. Caught up in the net of sin. Struggling. Tired. Sick. Dying. These are all common realities of the human condition. What a sorry lot we would be without mommy’s arms and abstract paintings – and far above all, without Jesus. He is the author, the source, the originator, the initiator of our faith, and has led the way into heaven as our forerunner. He is the finisher, the perfector, the completer of our faith that He may present us to the Father, perfect in Him. And glory hallelujah, our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ sits at the right hand of the throne of God! Let us be looking unto Jesus always and forever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

