Now I See – Part 5 [Closed Eyes]

IMG_4744Then they said to him again, “What did He do to you? How did He open your eyes?”

He answered them, “I told you already, and you did not listen. Why do you want to hear it again? Do you want to become His disciples?”

Then they reviled him and said, “You are His disciple, but we are Moses’ disciples. We know that God spoke to Moses; as for this fellow, we do not know where He is from.”

The man answered and said to them, “Why, this is a marvelous thing, that you do not know where He is from; yet He has opened my eyes! Now we know that God does not hear sinners; but if anyone is a worshiper of God and does His will, He hears them. Since the world began it has been unheard of that anyone opened the eyes of one who was born blind. If this man were not from God, He could do nothing.”

They answered and said to him, “You were completely born in sins, and you are teaching us?” And they cast him out. (John 9:26-34)

Have you ever talked to someone who refuses to hear the facts, even though those facts are banging outside their ear like a giant gong? Have you ever held up the “smoking gun” right in front of someone’s eyes, and then gasped in exasperation at their obstinate denial of the evidence’s existence? We humans specialize in mulish rebellion. We are a tiny bit partial to our own agendas. We are just a wee tad inclined towards our own self-interest.

When the Nazarene begins the life long process of turning us stubborn mules into His lambs, we become witnesses of Him and for Him. We will find many different kinds of people, but one is most common. The “deaf and blind on purpose” award, hands down, belongs to religious people, most of them churchgoers. But, in reality, they are actually Moses’ disciples. “I don’t need a “personal relationship” with Jesus Christ.” they scold, “I go to church; I have my religion.” One fellow upset, at the “walking it” witness of the Christians in my workplace, declared, “I get my religion on Sunday mornings; I don’t need to hear that stuff the rest of the week!”

And still, like the man born blind, His lambs must testify to the religious mules: “This is a marvelous thing! Jesus opened my eyes!”

And even still, they look back at you with closed eyes: “You are teaching me??? I have my religion!”

Next time: Open Eyes

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

