Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

3d-ultrasound-baby-womb-660“As thou knowst not what is the way of the spirit, nor how the bones do grow in the womb of her that is with child: even so thou knowst not the works of God who maketh all.” (Ecclesiastes. 11:5)

Have you ever heard someone make the statement that the Bible never mentions abortion? Therefore, since the word does not make an appearance on the pages of Scripture, the despicable practice is somehow acceptable. What a disingenuous and specious argument!

There is no ambiguity about God’s role in creating life. David says, “You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well. My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, The days fashioned for me, When as yet there were none of them.” (Psalm 139:13-16)

In Genesis 25:23 the Lord told Isaac’s wife Rebekah this about her unborn twins: “Two nations are in your womb, Two peoples shall be separated from your body; One people shall be stronger than the other, And the older shall serve the younger.” Rebekah’s boys already had a destiny while still in the womb.

The Lord spoke through the prophet Isaiah, “I am your Redeemer, who formed you in the womb; I am the Lord who has made all things…” (44:24) Isaiah adds in the 49th chapter, “The Lord called me before my birth. From within the womb He called me by my name.” God already had a calling for Isaiah to fulfill while he was yet to kick his feet in the womb.

This was also the case concerning the prophet Jeremiah. “Then the word of the Lord came to me saying: Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; Before you were born I sanctified you; I ordained you a prophet to the nations.” (Jeremiah 1:4-5) God knew Jeremiah as a person even before He formed him in the womb.

The events surrounding the conception and life in the womb of John the Baptist attests to God’s creative and purpose-driven role for the Messiah‘s forerunner. (Luke 1:15-16, 44) And we are all familiar with the arrival of that Messiah as an embryo in the womb of Mary.

The apostle Paul explains that “It pleased God, who separated me from my mother’s womb and called me through His grace, to reveal His Son in me that I might preach Him among the Gentiles.” (Gal. 1:15-16) The Lord knows everyone before He forms them in the womb and already has their purpose established before they are born. He knows our talents, gifts, dreams and desires, our personality and our unique individuality.

It is such empty nonsense to hold up God’s word and try to debate from what is not said in the overwhelming bright light of what is said. Those who do this, who believe killing the unborn is acceptable “knowst not the works of God who maketh all.”

How true the words of Casting Crowns as they comment in song about our culture: “United States of America looks like another silent night as we’re sung to sleep by philosophies that save the trees and kill the children.”

Next time: The Blood of the Innocents

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

