Where does your help come from?

where-does-my-help-come-fromI have written before about my fondness for the hills and mountains. One of my favorite hikes is to climb the path behind our cabin to the top of the mountain. On a clear day the view is tremendous as you can see for many miles. The mountains just pour out the presence of an all- powerful mighty God.

I guess that’s why Psalm 121 is one of my favorites. “I will lift my eyes unto the hills – From whence comes my help? My help comes from the Lord who made heaven and earth.” Psalm 121 was a Song of Ascents. The Jewish people sung them as they went up to Jerusalem. And being that the city sits on a mountain and was the place where God had dwelt (the temple), they probably lifted their eyes as if looking unto the very God who created that hill.

What an awesome thought – the very One who made the hills and mountains…heaven and earth is the very One who is there to help you and I. The writer of Hebrews stated it this way, “Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

