Am I a Bethlehem?

My_Heart_Christs_HomeThe difficult donkey ride is over. The “no vacancy” sign at the inn is past. The birth and manger were yesterday. That is all history. His birth is history. What does it mean for me today? Not too much if He has not been born in me.

Oswald Chambers just grabs me with this paragraph from his classic “My Utmost for His Highest” – His Birth in Me. Of whom I travail in birth again until Christ be formed in you” (Gal. 4:19). Just as Our Lord came into human history from outside, so He must come into me from outside. Have I allowed my personal human life to become a “Bethlehem” for the Son of God? I cannot enter into the realm of the Kingdom of God unless I am born from above by a birth totally unlike natural birth. “Ye must be born again.” This is not a command, it is a foundational fact. The characteristic of the new birth is that I yield myself so completely to God that Christ is formed in me. Immediately Christ is formed in me, His nature begins to work through me.”

Am I a Bethlehem? Are you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

