Are You Making Preparations?

Dont-Seek-Gods-PlanThis past Thursday was Thanksgiving. People all around the country were preparing for this holiday. I know we started making preparations a couple weeks back as we bought the turkey, and then discussed with other relatives who was going to make the other sides. The week before my wife reminded me that we were going to have to clean the house as part of the preparation, which automatically meant certain duties for me.

We people are planners. We will even have greater plans for Christmas. I personally planned a deer-hunting trip to the central mountains of Pennsylvania after Thanksgiving. And most of us are acquainted with the amount of time it takes to prepare a wedding. Why do we put so much time and effort into preparing for such events? Well, without the preparation and hard work, they would not be successful.

Yet how much preparation do I put into each day living for Christ? For this takes great preparation, but it is so easily relegated to second, third, or fourth position. Or maybe we just forget Him for the day. I mean I wouldn’t forget the turkey for Thanksgiving and I wouldn’t forget my gear for the hunting trip, but sometimes I choose to forgo my personal time with Him.

Robert Munger wrote in his little book, My Heart Christ Home, “The truth is that Christ desires my companionship. …Don’t let Christ wait alone in the living room of your heart, but every day find time when, with your Bible and in prayer, you may be together with Him.” For… “The Lord is near to all who call upon Him, to all who call upon Him in truth.” (Psalm 145: 18) Won’t you call upon Him today through His word and prayer, seeking His counsel and direction? Because if you acknowledge Him in all your ways, “He shall direct your paths.” (Prov 3:6)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

