“Animal Crackers in My Soup” – Part 1

mzi_kmyimjkl_170x170-75“For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who suppress the truth in unrighteousness, because what may be known of God is manifest in them, for God has shown it to them. For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so they are without excuse, because although they knew God they did not glorify Him as God, nor were they thankful, but became futile in their thoughts, and their foolish hearts were darkened. Professing to be wise, they became fools.” (Romans 1:18-22)

Do you remember Shirley Temple? She delighted movie audiences throughout the 1930’s. The cute curly-haired moppet sang, danced and acted her way into the world’s heart. In the movie, Curly Top, she sang a little ditty I find myself singing quite often now-a-days. Come on sing it with me. A one and a two… Once my mother said: “My little pet, you ought to learn the alphabet. I learned them all from A to Z and now my mother’s giving me: Animal crackers in my soup monkey’s and rabbits loop the loop; Gosh, oh gee, but I have fun swallowing animals one by one! In every bowl of soup I see, lions and tigers watching me; I make them jump right through a hoop, those animal crackers in my soup.”

Why am I often singing, “…monkeys and rabbits loop the loop?” Is it because I’m loopy? Okay, that would be one reason, and the other reason no doubt confirms that. Every time I hear the word “evolution” I turn into one strange looking Shirley Temple. Yes, without fail, whenever I hear the “… monkeys and (men) loop the loop” version concocted by unbelievers, I go crackers.

When the Creation Museum in Kentucky, founded by the group Answers in Genesis, opened its doors it opened a whole lot more. It opened a lot of screaming mouths protesting this blatant challenge to the “creation story” held onto with a religious death grip by unbelievers. You know the story: We used to be little amoeba faces floating around in a big soup bowl and then we grew some frog legs and then “jumped right through a hoop, those animal crackers in my soup.” Gosh, oh gee, there I go again, I just can’t help it o’ my friends.

Folks, evolution has little to do with science and a whole big bunch to do with rebellious man’s determined quest to rule and reign without the pesky reality that our Creator is the only occupant of the Throne.

Listen to what Dr. Eugenie Scott, executive director of the National Center for Science Education, told reporters before the museum opened. “Teachers don’t deserve a student coming into class saying, ‘Gee, Mrs. Brown, I went to this fancy museum and it said that you’re teaching me a lie.” Does this statement not reek of haughtiness and conceit? Let’s rephrase her statement and return it to Dr. Scott. “Parents don’t deserve a child coming home saying, ‘Gee, Mom and Dad, I went to Dr. Scott’s school and she said you’ve been teaching me a lie.’”

The Eugenie’s of the world want everyone to believe a frog became a prince after the soup cooked for a few million years. Truthfully, they are nothing but the clay protesting the Potter’s right to it. And in their continued protestations, they do demonstrate a sad evolution. They go from futile thoughts to foolish hearts to fools.

The fact is, Almighty God does not need to use mistakes, mutations and multiple millennia to create anything. HE SPEAKS, AND IT IS DONE.

More next time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

