Weary

swimmingupstream“For He who sows to his flesh will of the flesh reap corruption, but he who sows to the Spirit will of the Spirit reap everlasting life. And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart. (Galatians 6:8,9)

The man placed his open Bible upon his lap and turned his head to the wall. He had just read the scripture above. He was weary. But not in the way one might guess. He understood what the Word was teaching here. A believer lives a counter-culture life. The world swims incessantly one way – pulled by the flesh down stream. But the child of God must battle against the current, up, up, always up through the torrent. Keep swimming the apostle urges. Keep running. Stay the course. Reap the reward. Win the prize. Ride the Spirit all the way to glory!

The man sighed. His thoughts bounced off the wall and returned inward. “I’m not so much weary of doing good as I am of doing bad. I give into the wants of my flesh with little more than a whimper. I’m two, maybe three strokes up, and then float back down with the crowd. How easily I jump away from the Holy Spirit – sure the rapids will sink me this time. I corrupt my day, my week, my year, my life. I’m so weary from losing the battles. Everyone that I care about is hurt in one way or another. And I will never become the man God created me to be. When is this struggle gonna end? Ahhh, I know the answer to that, but…” Tears rimmed his eyes. Then as he had done the day before and no doubt would do tomorrow, he turned his head, picked up his Bible, and started upstream again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

