The Man I Want To Be

MenBehavingGodlyPraise the Lord! Blessed is the man who fears the Lord, who delights greatly in His commandments. His descendents will be mighty on earth; the generation of the upright will be blessed.” (Psalm 112:1-2)

The man was speaking of his father: “I worked with him every summer when I was young. After graduating from high school, I joined him full time on his delivery truck. Occasionally, my father had to deal with very difficult people, but he always responded with gentleness and kindness. Stressful situations were handled with a calm trusting faith in the Lord. He was a fair and generous man. I have tried to live the same way, and pray my children will be blessed by my life, as I was by my father’s.”

Listening to his testimony, I thought, “He’s describing the man in the 112th Psalm.” A man of influence and honor, whose life and deeds will never be forgotten. A man whose Godly example will pass down through the generations, providing a rich heritage for those who follow. A faithful, obedient, merciful man, who shines like a light in the darkness. He trusts in God’s protection and provision remaining calm in the storms of life. He is given to good deeds, a man whose righteousness endures forever. Praise the Lord for such a man!

I’m quite familiar with this uplifting Psalm. A few years ago I fell from my agnostic perch like a burned out star falling from the heavens. I crashed into the realization that I was an empty soul without a measure of integrity. Though I had nothing to give, I gave myself to Christ, trusting His promise to make something of my life. He began leading me upward on the path of righteousness and we stopped to read the 112th Psalm. My heart, my whole being, soared within – “Lord, that’s the man I want to be!”

I am not the man in the 112th Psalm. I’m more like somewhere around “the chief of sinners.” But, the Apostle Paul says, “…He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ.” (Philippians 1:6) Our strength is totally insufficient to produce the fruit of the Spirit which we need to live a Godly life. The believer’s Christ-likeness aspirations will never be realized and manifested apart from Him. (John 15:1-11)

No matter your age, gender or place on the Godly path, read Psalm 112, and fill your heart and mind with its message of hope and encouragement. And remember this, “Beloved, now we are children of God; and it has yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know that when He is revealed, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is. And everyone who has this hope in Him purifies himself, just as He is pure.” (I John 3:2-3)

I want to live as my wonderful father did. Like him, the most important gift I can give to my son and my grandson is to be the man in the 112th Psalm. That’s the man I want to be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

